Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER in /mnt/storage/sites/ on line 73
Secretary Napolitano Announces Academic Advisory Council
Invite your friends
Review this article
Facebook sharing options

Secretary Napolitano Announces Academic Advisory Council

March 2, 2012, 9:30 am
A- A+
Vote for this article on Facebook
Secretary Napolitano Announces Academic Advisory Council
Show image
Notice: Undefined index: in /mnt/storage/sites/ on line 56

For Immediate Release

Release Date: March 1, 2012


Office of the Press Secretary

Contact: 202-282-8010



WASHINGTON—U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Janet Napolitano today announced the formation of the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC), comprised of prominent university presidents and academic leaders charged with advising the Secretary and senior leadership at the Department on several key issues.

“The formation of this Council represents an important milestone towards engaging the academic community in our homeland security efforts,” said Secretary Napolitano. “Their collective expertise will be a critical asset to the Department, and I look forward to working with them.”

The new council underscores the Department’s commitment to working with the academic community. Secretary Napolitano has asked the group, which will be chaired by Dr. Wallace Loh of the University of Maryland, to provide advice and recommendations on issues related to student and recent graduate recruitment; international students; academic research; campus and community resiliency, security and preparedness; and faculty exchanges.

The group’s inaugural meeting will take place on March 20 in Washington, D.C. A notice in the Federal Register formally announced the first meeting, which is open to the public.

Members* appointed to the HSAAC are:

Dr. Joseph E. Aoun, President of Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts

Ms. Carrie L. Billy, President of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium in Alexandria, Virginia

Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, President and CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges in Washington, D.C.

Dr. David M. Dooley, President of the University of Rhode Island in Kingston, Rhode Island

Dr. Royce C. Engstrom, President of the University of Montana in Missoula, Montana

Dr. Antonio R. Flores, President and CEO of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities in San Antonio, Texas

Dr. Rufus Glasper, Chancellor of the Maricopa Community Colleges in Tempe, Arizona

Dr. Jay Gogue, President of Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama

Ms. Marlene M. Johnson, Executive Director and CEO of the Association of International Educators (NAFSA) in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Eric W. Kaler, President of the University of Minnesota in the Twin Cities, Minnesota

Dr. R. Bowen Loftin, President of Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas

Dr. Wallace Loh, President of the University of Maryland in College Park, Maryland

Dr. Gail O. Mellow, President of LaGuardia Community College in Long Island City, New York

Ms. Ruby G. Moy, President and CEO of the Asian Pacific Islander American Association of Colleges and Universities in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Hunter R. Rawlings, III, President of the Association of American Universities in Washington, D.C.

Dr. John Sexton, President of New York University in New York City, New York

Rear Admiral Sandra Stosz, Superintendent of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in New London, Connecticut

Dr. Dianne Boardley Suber, President of Saint Augustine’s College in Raleigh, North Carolina

Dr. Holden Thorp, Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in Chapel Hill, North Carolina

*There are outstanding appointments still being determined at this time.

For more information, please visit



Author: Editorial Staff
Our staff consists of writers living in various parts of the U.S. as well as from Brazil and Portugal. If you would like to become a contributing journalist please send us an e-mail to
Apsanlaw Offices
Other news

Notice: Undefined variable: pesq in /mnt/storage/sites/ on line 11
Showing now
Secretary Napolitano Announces Academic Advisory Council
Secretary Napolitano Announces Academic Advisory Council
Friday 02 March 2012

Notice: Undefined variable: tpalavras in /mnt/storage/sites/ on line 50
Friday 12 January 2018
Immigrant Facebook Users BEWARE
Monday 02 October 2017
Silicon Valley Giants join fight to save DACA
Tuesday 05 September 2017
immigration news
Supreme Court Decision would affect millions here illegally
Thursday 14 April 2016

Warning: mysqli_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, boolean given in /mnt/storage/sites/ on line 14